(Incorporated in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 308)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF MEMBER OF AUDIT COMMITTEE

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of China Travel International Investment Hong Kong Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Sze Tsai To, Robert, has been appointed as an independent non-executive director and a member of the Audit Committee of the Company with effect from 3rd January 2005 and Dr. Fong Yun Wah has resigned as a member of the Audit Committee of the Company simultaneously.

Mr. Sze Tsai To, Robert, aged 64, is a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants and was a partner in an international firm of accountants with which he practised for over 20 years. He holds directorships in a number of Hong Kong listed companies. He is also a member of the Shanghai Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Sze does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company and interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

There is neither any service contract between the Company and Mr. Sze nor any proposed length of service with the Company in respect of his directorship. Mr. Sze's appointment will hold office until the next annual general meeting of the Company and will then be eligible for re-election in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company. He will be entitled to a director's fee of which is to be determined and approved by shareholders of the Company in the forthcoming annual general meeting.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters with respect to the above that need to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

The directors of the Company as at the date of this announcement:

Executive Directors: Mr. Che Shujian, Mr. Zhang Xuewu, Mr. Shen Zhuying, Mr. Zheng Heshui, Mr. Lo Sui On, Mr. Chen Shoujie, Mr. Zheng Hongqing, Mr. Zhang Fengchun, Mr. Ng Chi Man, Michael and Mr. Liu Li

Independent Non-executive Directors: Dr. Yeh Meou Tsen, Geoffrey (Mr. Yeh V Nee being the Alternate Director to Dr. Yeh Meou Tsen, Geoffrey), Dr. Fong Yun Wah, Mr. Wong Man Kong, Peter and Mr. Sze Tsai To, Robert

By Order of the Board Ng Chi Man, Michael Executive Director

Hong Kong, 3rd January 2005