



JOINT ANNOUNCEMENT

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors of Allied Group Limited ("AGL") is pleased to announce that Mr. Arthur George Dew ("Mr. Dew"), a non-executive director of AGL, has been appointed as the chairman of AGL with effect from 1st January, 2007. Mr. Dew is currently a member of the audit and remuneration committees of AGL.

The board of directors of Allied Properties (H.K.) Limited ("APL") is pleased to announce that Mr. Dew has been appointed as a non-executive director and the chairman of APL as well as a member of the audit and remuneration committees of APL, all with effect from 1st January, 2007.

Mr. Dew, aged 65, was appointed an independent non-executive director of AGL in December 1995 and re-designated as a non-executive director of AGL in July 2002. He graduated from the Law School of the University of Sydney, Australia, and was admitted as a solicitor and later as a barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, Australia. Mr. Dew is currently a non-practising barrister. He has a broad range of corporate and business experience and has served as a director, and in some instances chairman of the board of directors, of a number of public companies listed in Australia, Hong Kong and elsewhere. Mr. Dew is currently an executive director and the chairman of Quality HealthCare Asia Limited ("QHA"). Mr. Dew retired as a non-executive director and the chairman of Sun Hung Kai & Co. Limited ("SHK") on 31st December, 2006. QHA is a non wholly-owned subsidiary of SHK which in return is a non wholly-owned subsidiary of AGL. Both QHA and SHK are companies listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The term of Mr. Dew's appointment in AGL and APL shall continue until 31st December, 2007, subject to the provisions of the respective articles of association of AGL and APL or other applicable laws whereby a director shall vacate his office. In particular, the term of his appointment shall be subject to the provisions of retirement and re-election at the general meetings of AGL and APL in accordance with the respective articles of association. The remuneration packages of Mr. Dew for his appointment in AGL and APL will be finalised as soon as possible.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Dew does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of AGL and APL, nor does he hold any other positions with AGL and APL or any of their subsidiaries. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Dew does not have any interest in the securities of AGL and APL within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

There is no information in relation to Mr. Dew to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements of paragraphs (h) to (v) of Rule 13.51(2) of The Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and Mr. Dew is not aware of any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of AGL and APL.

The boards of directors of AGL and APL would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr. Dew for his new appointments in AGL and APL.

By Order of the Board Allied Group Limited Edwin Lo King Yau Executive Director By Order of the Board Allied Properties (H.K.) Limited Patrick Lee Seng Wei Executive Director

Hong Kong, 2nd January, 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of Allied Group Limited comprises Messrs. Lee Seng Hui (Chief Executive), Edwin Lo King Yau and Mak Pak Hung being the executive directors, Ms. Lee Su Hwei and Mr. Arthur George Dew (Chairman) being the non-executive directors, and Messrs. Alan Stephen Jones, Wong Po Yan, David Craig Bartlett and John Douglas Mackie being the independent non-executive directors.

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of Allied Properties (H.K.) Limited comprises Messrs. Patrick Lee Seng Wei (Chief Executive) and Li Chi Kong being the executive directors, Messrs. Arthur George Dew (Chairman), Henry Lai Hin Wing and Steven Lee Siu Chung being the non-executive directors, and Messrs. Alan Stephen Jones, John Douglas Mackie and Steven Samuel Zoellner being the independent non-executive directors.