

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) (website: www.behl.com.hk) (Stock Code: 392)

## **BOARD CHANGES**

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Beijing Enterprises Holdings Limited (the "Company") announces the appointment of Mr. Lam Hoi Ham as an independent nonexecutive director of the Company to fill the vacancy caused by the resignations of Mr. Lau Hon Chuen, Ambrose, Dr. Lee Tung Hai, Leo and Mr. Wang Xian Zhang (the "Resigned Directors"). Mr. Lam will act as the chairman of the audit committee and a member of the remuneration committee of the Company upon his appointment. Mr. Robert A. Theleen, an existing independent non-executive director of the Company, will join the audit committee. The aforementioned board changes take effect on 3 March 2008.

## **RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS**

The Resigned Directors have been appointed as independent non-executive directors of the Company for more than nine years. In consideration of the recommended best practice regarding independence of directors set out in A.4.3 of Appendix 14 of Rules Governing The Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"), the Board has accepted the resignations of the Resigned Directors have effective 3 March 2008. The Company has confirmed that the Resigned Directors have no disagreement with the Board and there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of holders of securities of the Company in relation to their resignations. The Board takes this opportunity to express their appreciation for the Resigned Directors' valuable contribution to the Company.

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

**Mr. Lam Hoi Ham**, aged 69, was graduated from the faculty of economics of The University of Hong Kong, is the founder of the accounting firm H H Lam & Co., and is a fellow member of Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Mr. Lam was granted Medal of Honour by The Hong Kong Government in 1994 and was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 1997. Mr. Lam serves as a Standing Committee member of the 10th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference of the People's Republic of China of Beijing City, the vice chairman of Beijing Overseas Friendship Association and a committee member of Beijing Health Department Overseas Friendship Association, etc.

Mr. Lam:

- (i) saved as disclosed above, held no other directorships in listed public companies in the last three years;
- (ii) has not entered into any service contracts in relation to his directorship with the Company; has no fixed term of service with the Company and will be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the forthcoming annual general meeting of the Company in accordance with the articles of association of the Company;
- (iii) does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company;
- (iv) as at the date of this announcement, is not interested or deemed to be interested in shares or underlying shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance;
- (v) is entitled to receive by way of director's fees of his services as an independent non-executive director of the Company determined by the Board with reference to prevailing market rate, which is currently fixed at HK\$180,000 per annum; and
- (vi) does not have any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company and does not have any information which is required to be disclosed under Rules 13.51(2)(h)-(v) of the Listing Rules.

The Board would like to extend a warm welcome to Mr. Lam for joining the Board.

By order of the Board **Tam Chun Fai** Executive Director Hong Kong, 3 March 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Yi Xi Qun, Mr. Zhang Hong Hai, Mr. Li Fu Cheng, Mr. Bai Jin Rong, Mr. Zhou Si, Mr. Liu Kai, Mr. Guo Pu Jin, Mr. E Meng, Mr. Lei Zhen Gang, Mr. Jiang Xin Hao and Mr. Tam Chun Fai as executive Directors; Mr. Wu Jiesi, Mr. Robert A. Theleen and Mr. Lam Hoi Ham as independent non-executive Directors.