Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim and liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Hong Kong Building and Loan Agency Limited

香港建屋貸款有限公司

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 145)

PLACING OF NEW SHARES UNDER SPECIFIC MANDATE POLL RESULTS OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

The Board is pleased to announce that at the Placing EGM held on 8 July 2011, the proposed Resolution was duly passed by the Shareholders by way of poll.

Reference is made to the circular (the "**Circular**") of The Hong Kong Building and Loan Agency Limited (the "**Company**") dated 22 June 2011. Unless the context otherwise requires, terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

The Board is pleased to announce that at the Placing EGM held on 8 July 2011, the proposed resolution (the "**Resolution**") as set out in the notice of the Placing EGM dated 22 June 2011 was duly passed by the Shareholders by way of poll.

As at the date of the Placing EGM, the total number of Shares in issue was 4,351,464,007 Shares, which was equivalent to the total number of Shares entitling holders thereof to attend and vote for or against the Resolution. No Shareholder was entitled to attend but could only vote against the Resolution at the Placing EGM.

The share registrar of the Company, Tricor Tengis Limited, was appointed to act and acted as the scrutineer for the vote-taking at the Placing EGM. The poll results of the Placing EGM were as follows:

Resolution		Number of votes (%)	
		For	Against
1.	Resolution no.1 as set out in the notice of the Placing EGM	2,167,632,500 Shares (99.988%)	255,200 Shares (0.012%)

By Order of the Board **The Hong Kong Building and Loan Agency Limited Au Tin Fung** *Executive Director*

Hong Kong, 8 July 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Au Tin Fung, Mr. So Yuen Chun and Mr. Soong Kok Meng being executive Directors; Mr. Ng Cheuk Fan, Keith, Mr. Lam Kwok Hing, Wilfred and Mr. Yeung Wai Hung, Peter being independent non-executive Directors.