Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA STARCH HOLDINGS LIMITED

中國澱粉控股有限公司

(incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 3838)

POLL RESULTS AT THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE COMPANY HELD ON 1 JUNE 2009

Reference is made to the circular (the "Circular") of China Starch Holdings Limited (the "Company") dated 24 April 2009. Unless the context requires otherwise, capitalised terms used in this announcement have the same meanings as those defined in the Circular.

POLL RESULTS AT THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Board is pleased to announce the poll results in respect of all the resolutions proposed (the "**Proposed Resolutions**") at the annual general meeting of the Company held on 1 June 2009 (the "**AGM**").

As at the date of the AGM, the total number of issued shares of the Company was 2,612,500,000, which was the total number of shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote for or against any of the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM. There was no Share entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote only against any of the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM. There were no restrictions on any Shareholder to cast votes on any of the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM.

The poll results in respect of the Proposed Resolutions passed at the AGM are set out below:

Resolutions		Number of votes (%)	
		For	Against
1.	To receive and approve the audited consolidated financial	1,898,696,177	0
	statements of the Company and its subsidiaries and the reports	(100%)	(0%)
	of the Directors and the auditors of the Company for the year		
	ended 31 December 2008		
2.	To declare a final dividend for the year ended 31 December	1,898,696,177	0
	2008	(100%)	(0%)

	Don't discon	Number of votes (%)	
	Resolutions	For	Against
3.	(a) To re-elect Mr. Yu Yingquan as an executive Director	1,898,696,177	0
		(100%)	(0%)
	(b) To re-elect Mr. Liu Xianggang as an executive	1,898,696,177	0
	Director	(100%)	(0%)
	(c) To re-elect Ms. Dong Yanfeng as an independent non-	1,898,696,177	0
	executive Director	(100%)	(0%)
	(d) To authorise the Board to fix the remuneration of the	1,898,696,177	0
	Directors	(100%)	(0%)
4.	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as the auditors of the	1,898,696,177	0
	Company and authorise the Board to fix their remuneration	(100%)	(0%)
5.	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to allot, issue and	1,898,090,000	606,177
	deal with the unissued shares of HK\$0.1 each in the share	(99.968%)	(0.032%)
	capital of the Company, the aggregate nominal amount of		
	which shall not exceed 20% of the aggregate nominal amount		
	of issued share capital of the Company as at the date of passing		
	of this resolution (note)		
6.	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to purchase the	1,898,696,177	0
	Company's shares up to 10% of the issued share capital of the	(100%)	(0%)
	Company as at the date of passing of this resolution (note)		
7.	To add the nominal amount of the shares purchased by the	1,898,676,177	20,000
	Company to the general mandate granted to the Directors	(99.999%)	(0.001%)
	under resolution no.5 above (note)		

Note: Please refer to the notice of the AGM dated 24 April 2009 for the full text of the Proposed Resolutions.

As a majority of votes were cast in favour of each of the Proposed Resolutions, all of them were passed as ordinary resolutions.

Tricor Investor Services Limited, the Hong Kong branch share registrar of the Company, was appointed and acted as the scrutineer for the purpose of vote-taking at the AGM.

By order of the Board
CHINA STARCH HOLDINGS LIMITED
Tian Qixiang
Chairman

Hong Kong, 1 June 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr Tian Qixiang, Mr Gao Shijun, Mr Yu Yingquan and Mr Liu Xianggang and the independent non-executive Directors are Ms Dong Yanfeng, Ms Yu Shumin, Mr Cao Zenggong and Mr Yue Kwai 0, Ken.