Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## CHINA STARCH HOLDINGS LIMITED 中國澱粉控股有限公司

(incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 3838)

## **CLARIFICATION OF PRESS ARTICLES**

This announcement is made at the request of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange").

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Starch Holdings Limited (the "Company") has noted several press articles (the "Articles") published on 17 November 2009 which containing certain statements allegedly made by Mr. Leung Siu Hong ("Mr. Leung"), the company secretary and financial controller of the Company.

The Board, after reviewing the Articles and making enquiries with Mr. Leung, wishes to clarify that while it acknowledges Mr. Leung made certain statements regarding the industry average selling price of starch-based sweetener and the estimated segment gross margin of certain market players in the starch-based sweetener industry based on their publicly available information, Mr. Leung did not make any statement or representation to the press in respect of the profitability or the level of net profit growth of the Company's business.

The Board also wishes to clarify that the above statements were made by Mr. Leung in the context of the trend of the starch-based sweetener industry in general and only represent the personal view of Mr. Leung in this regard and not that of the Board or the Company.

By order of the Board

China Starch Holdings Limited

Tian Qixiang

Chairman

Hong Kong, 17 November 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Tian Qixiang, Mr. Gao Shijun, Mr. Yu Yingquan and Mr. Liu Xianggang and the independent non-executive Directors are Ms. Dong Yanfeng, Ms. Yu Shumin, Mr. Cao Zenggong and Mr. Yue Kwai Wa, Ken.