Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **China Telecom Corporation Limited**

## 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

## COMPLETION OF THE ACQUISITION OF CERTAIN CDMA NETWORK ASSETS AND ASSOCIATED LIABILITIES

Reference is made to the circular (the "Circular") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") dated 30 August 2012 in connection with the Company's acquisition of certain CDMA Network Assets and Associated Liabilities, and the Company's announcement dated 16 October 2012 on the poll results of the extraordinary general meeting held on the same day. Unless otherwise defined in this announcement, capitalised terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

The Board is pleased to announce that the Acquisition Agreement has become effective pursuant to its terms, and all conditions precedent to completion have been fulfilled. The Company and China Telecommunications Corporation have completed the relevant completion arrangements as set out in the section headed "The Acquisition Agreement – Completion and Relevant Arrangements" in the Circular that are required to be completed on 31 December 2012.

By Order of the Board
China Telecom Corporation Limited
Wang Xiaochu
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, PRC, 2 January 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the Board consists of Mr. Wang Xiaochu as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Madam Wu Andi as the executive vice president and chief financial officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, Mr. Chen Liangxian as the non-executive director and Mr. Wu Jichuan, Mr. Qin Xiao, Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura and Mr. Xu Erming as the independent non-executive directors.