Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION AND PROPOSED APPOINTMENT OF SUPERVISORS

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to his age, Mr. Miao Jianhua has retired from his position as the supervisor of the Company and due to a change in job responsibility, Mr. Xu Cailiao and Madam Han Fang have also resigned from their positions as the supervisors of the Company with effect from 22 August 2012. Mr. Miao Jianhua, Mr. Xu Cailiao and Madam Han Fang have confirmed that they have no disagreement with the Board and did not have any matters in relation to their resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Miao Jianhua, Mr. Xu Cailiao and Madam Han Fang for their valuable contribution to the Company during their tenure of office. Meanwhile, Mr. Shao Chunbao and Mr. Hu Jing have been nominated as the supervisors of the Company. The Company will seek approval for the proposed appointment from the shareholders of the Company at an extraordinary general meeting. A notice of extraordinary general meeting which contains, among others, the details of such appointment will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

Mr. Shao Chunbao, aged 54, is currently the head of the Discipline Inspection Division of China Telecommunications Corporation. Mr. Shao received a doctorate degree from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology. He served as Deputy Office Director and Deputy Director of the Scientific Research Division of the Shanxi Taiyuan Municipal Party School, Director level Secretary in the General Office of CPC Committee of Shanxi Province, Director level investigator of the Organisation Department of the Central Committee of CPC, Deputy Director General of the Departmental Affairs Management Division of the Central Committee of CPC, Deputy Secretary of the Municipal Party Committee of Jiujiang, Jiangxi Province, Deputy Secretary of the Discipline Commission and Director General of the Inspection Bureau of the State Owned Assets Supervision and Administration of the State Council. Mr. Shao has extensive government work experience and management experience.

Mr. Hu Jing, aged 37, is currently the Deputy Director in the audit department of the

Company. Mr. Hu received a bachelor's degree in accounting from the Xi'an University of Finance and Economics in 1997 and a master's degree in business administration from the Northwest University in 2003. Mr. Hu served at various financial and auditing positions at Shaanxi Telecom Company Limited and China Telecommunications Corporation. He is a member of the Chinese Institute of Certified Public Accountants and senior accountant with 15 years of experience in finance and auditing.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Shao Chunbao and Mr. Hu Jing did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any post in any affiliated companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Shao Chunbao and Mr. Hu Jing do not have any equity interest in the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed appointment of Mr. Shao Chunbao and Mr. Hu Jing that shall be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Wang Xiaochu

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, PRC, 22 August 2012

As of the date of this announcement, the Board consists of Mr. Wang Xiaochu as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Madam Wu Andi as the executive vice president and chief financial officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, and Mr. Wu Jichuan, Mr. Qin Xiao, Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming as the independent non-executive directors.