Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION AND PROPOSED

APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to his age, Mr. Li Jinming has retired from his position as the non-executive director of the Company with effect from 22 August 2012. Mr. Li has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and did not have any matters in relation to his retirement that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Li Jinming for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office. Meanwhile, the Board also proposes that Mr. Chen Liangxian to be appointed by the shareholders of the Company as the non-executive director of the Company.

Mr. Chen Liangxian, aged 49, is an economist and completed the post-graduate program in law from the Guangdong Academy of Social Sciences. He is currently the Chairman of Guangdong Rising Assets Management Co., Ltd (one of the domestic shareholders of the Company). He served as the Chairman and General Manager of Guangdong Materials Group Corporation, the Office Deputy Director, Assistant to General Manager and Deputy General Manager of Guangdong Materials Management Corporation, Deputy Director General and Director General of Guangdong Huilai County Commercial Bureau, General Manager of Business Cooperative Corporation and Manager of Guangdong Province Huilai County Overseas Chinese Commodities Supply Company. Mr. Chen has 30 years of experience in enterprise management. He was awarded the Guangdong Province May 1st Labour Medal in 2007 and the National May 1st Labour Medal in 2012.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Chen Liangxian did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any post in any affiliated companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Chen does not have any equity interest in the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed appointment of Mr. Chen that shall be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h)to(v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The proposed appointment of Mr. Chen Liangxian as the non-executive director of the Company will be submitted to an extraordinary general meeting for approval by the shareholders of the Company. A notice of extraordinary general meeting, which contains, among others, the details of such appointment will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Wang Xiaochu Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, PRC, 22 August 2012

As of the date of this announcement, the Board consists of Mr. Wang Xiaochu as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Madam Wu Andi as the executive vice president and chief financial officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, and Mr. Wu Jichuan, Mr. Qin Xiao, Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming as the independent non-executive directors.