Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **China Telecom Corporation Limited**

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

## **RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR**

China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that it has received notice from its controlling shareholder, China Telecommunications Corporation, that Mr. Chang Xiaobing has been appointed as the Chairman of China Telecommunications Corporation, and that Mr. Wang Xiaochu has resigned from his position as the Chairman of China Telecommunications Corporation and has been appointed as the Chairman of China United Network Communications Group Company Limited.

Meanwhile, Mr. Wang Xiaochu has resigned from his position as the executive director, chairman and chief executive officer of the Company with effect from 24 August 2015 due to change in work arrangement. Mr. Wang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board of Directors (the "Board") and did not have any matters in relation to his resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Wang Xiaochu for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office.

Certain consequential adjustment to the Board of the Company is planned to be made, which will be subject to review and discussion by the Board and the Nomination Committee of the Company. Further announcements will be made by the Company in connection with the above as and when appropriate in accordance with the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Yung Shun Loy, Jacky Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 24 August 2015

As of the date of this announcement, the Board consists of Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, Mr. Zhu Wei as the non-executive director, and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming as the independent non-executive directors.