Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENT OF COMPANY SECRETARY

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that Madam Chu Ka Yee has been appointed as the Company Secretary and Authorised Representative of the Company with effect from 6 November 2015. Madam Chu holds a Bachelor degree in Business Administration from the Chinese University of Hong Kong and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of New South Wales. Madam Chu is a Fellow Member of The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants of United Kingdom, an Associate Member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, an Associate Member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants, a Fellow Member of The Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators of United Kingdom and a Fellow Member of The Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries. Madam Chu has over 25 years of company secretarial, accounting and financial management experience in listed companies.

The Board would like to extend its warmest welcome to Madam Chu for her appointment to the Company.

> By Order of the Board **China Telecom Corporation Limited Chang Xiaobing**

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, PRC, 6 November 2015

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company consists of Mr. Chang Xiaobing as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, Mr. Zhu Wei as the non-executive director, and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming as the independent non-executive directors.