Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness, and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

MR. CHANG XIAOBING, CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD, UNDER INVESTIGATION

This announcement is made by China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rules 13.09 and 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") and the Inside Information Provisions under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571, Laws of Hong Kong).

The board of Directors of the Company (the "**Board**") wishes to inform the shareholders of the Company that according to the information disclosed on the website of CPC Central Commission for Discipline Inspection (中共中央紀律檢查委員會) and Ministry of Supervision of the People's Republic of China (中華人民共和國監察部), Mr. Chang Xiaobing, the former Chairman of China United Network Communications Group Company Limited and the existing Chairman of China Telecommunications Corporation (the parent company of the Company), is currently under investigation by the relevant authorities for suspected serious disciplinary violations. Mr. Chang Xiaobing is the Chairman of the Board and chief executive officer of the Company,

The Company currently maintains normal business operations. The Company will make further announcement(s) as and when appropriate in accordance with the requirements under relevant laws, regulations and the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Chu Ka Yee

Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 27 December 2015

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company consists of Mr. Chang Xiaobing as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Yang Jie as the president and chief operating officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen as the executive vice presidents, Mr. Zhu Wei as the non-executive director, and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming as the independent non-executive directors.