Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Zhen Caiji has been appointed as an Executive Vice President of the Company with effect from 4 November 2016.

Mr. Zhen Caiji, aged 55, is a professor-level senior engineer. Mr. Zhen received a doctorate degree in business administration from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Mr. Zhen served as Deputy Chief Engineer of Directorate General of Telecommunications of the Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications, President of Beijing Posts and Telecommunications Design Institute of Ministry of Information Industry, Vice President of China Academy of Telecommunication Research of Ministry of Information Industry, Deputy Chief Engineer of China Mobile Communications Corporation, President of China Academy of Telecommunications Technology, and Chairman and President of Datang Telecom Technology & Industry Group. He is also a Vice President of China Telecommunications Corporation, the controlling shareholder of the Company. Mr. Zhen has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Yang Jie

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 4 November 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Yang Xiaowei (as the president and chief operating officer); Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).