Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENTS OF PRESIDENT AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER AND PROPOSED APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Liu Aili has been appointed as the President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company with effect from 11 October 2017. In addition, the Company will seek approval for the proposed appointment of Mr. Liu Aili as an Executive Director of the Company from the shareholders of the Company, effective from the date of approval by the shareholders of the Company at an extraordinary general meeting. The above appointment will be effective until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2019 to be held in year 2020.

Mr. Liu Aili, aged 54, is a professor-level senior engineer. Mr. Liu received a master of management degree from Norwegian School of Management BI, a doctorate degree in business administration from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and is a visiting scholar at Harvard University and Yale University. Mr. Liu served as Director General of Shandong Mobile Telecommunications Administration, Director General of Network Department of China Mobile Communications Corporation, Chairman and President of China Mobile Group Shandong Company Limited, Chairman and President of China Mobile Group Zhejiang Company Limited, Chairman of CMPak Limited in Pakistan, Non-Executive Director of China Mobile Limited and Vice President of China Mobile Communications Corporation. He is also a Director and President of China Telecommunications Corporation and the Chairman of China Tower Corporation Limited. Mr. Liu has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Liu Aili did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any post in any affiliated companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Liu does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the appointment of Mr. Liu that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any matters

which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. After the election of Mr. Liu Aili as a director of the Company having been approved at the extraordinary general meeting, the Company will enter into a service contract with Mr. Liu. The Board will determine the remuneration of Mr. Liu Aili with reference to his duties, responsibilities, experience as well as the current market conditions.

The proposed appointment of Mr. Liu Aili as an Executive Director of the Company will be submitted to an extraordinary general meeting for approval by the shareholders of the Company. A circular of extraordinary general meeting will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Yang Jie Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 11 October 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Ke Ruiwen, Mr. Sun Kangmin, Mr. Gao Tongqing and Mr. Chen Zhongyue (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).