Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **China Telecom Corporation Limited**

## 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

## VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT: CHANGE OF COMPANY NAME AND COMPANY TYPE OF CONTROLLING SHAREHOLDER

This announcement is made by the board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") on a voluntary basis.

The Company was notified by the controlling shareholder of the Company, China Telecommunications Corporation ("CTC") (中國電信集團公司) that the company type of CTC has changed from an enterprise owned by the whole people (全民所有制企業) to a wholly state-owned company (國有獨資公司) with its Chinese company name correspondingly changed from "中國電信集團公司" to "中國電信集團有限公司" (the "Changes"). The relevant industrial and commercial registration procedures have been completed.

All assets, liabilities and interests of "中國電信集團公司" are assumed by "中國電信集團有限公司" after the Changes. The above matter does not involve any change in the Company's controlling shareholder and its proportion of shareholding in the Company. "中國電信集團有限公司" is the controlling shareholder of the Company which holds 70.89% of the issued share capital of the Company. The above matter will not have any material impact on the operating activities of the Company.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Yang Jie

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 21 December 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Liu Aili (as the president and chief operating officer); Mr. Ke Ruiwen, Mr. Sun Kangmin, Mr. Gao Tongqing and Mr. Chen Zhongyue (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).