Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF IMPORTANT EXECUTIVE POSITION

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to change in work arrangement, Mr. Yang Xiaowei ("Mr. Yang") has resigned from his positions as an executive director, president and chief operating officer of the Company with effect from 7 June 2017. Mr. Yang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and did not have any matters in relation to his resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Yang for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Yang Jie Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 7 June 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Ke Ruiwen, Mr. Sun Kangmin, Mr. Gao Tongqing and Mr. Chen Zhongyue (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).