Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

POLL RESULTS OF EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 18 APRIL 2019

The Board of the Company is pleased to announce that the proposed resolution was duly passed by the Shareholders by way of poll at the EGM of the Company held on 18 April 2019.

References are made to the circular (the "Circular") and the notice (the "Notice") of extraordinary general meeting (the "EGM") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") dated 27 February 2019. Unless otherwise defined in this announcement, terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular and the Notice.

POLL RESULTS OF THE EGM

The board of directors (the "Board") of the Company is pleased to announce that the EGM of the Company was held on Thursday, 18 April 2019 at 31 Jinrong Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, PRC. As at the date of the EGM, the total number of issued shares of the Company was 80,932,368,321.

As set out in the Circular, China Telecommunications Corporation, the controlling shareholder of the Company, holding an aggregate of 57,377,053,317 shares (representing approximately 70.89% of the total number of issued shares of the Company), was required to abstain from voting on the ordinary resolution in relation to the continuing connected transactions, and there were no restrictions on any other Shareholders casting votes on the proposed resolution at the EGM. Accordingly, the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against the ordinary resolution at the EGM was 23,555,315,004, representing approximately 29.11% of the total number of issued shares of the Company. Save as disclosed above, there were no shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and abstain from voting in favour of the resolution at the EGM as set out in Rule 13.40 of the Listing Rules and none of the Shareholders has stated his intention in the Circular to vote against or to abstain from voting on the resolution proposed at the EGM. The EGM was held in compliance with the requirements of the Company Law of the People's Republic of China and the provisions of the Articles of Association of the Company. China Telecommunications Corporation had abstained from voting on the proposed ordinary resolution at the EGM.

The poll results in respect of the proposed resolution at the EGM were as follows:

Ordinary Resolution		No. of votes (%)	
		For	Against
1.	Ordinary resolution numbered 1 of the Notice of EGM dated 27 February 2019 (To approve the continuing connected transactions in relation to the deposit services contemplated under the China Telecom Financial Services Framework Agreement and the Annual Caps applicable thereto)	13,590,358,110 71.0391%	5,540,460,230 28.9609%
	As more than 1/2 of the votes were cast in favour of this resolution, the resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, registrar of the Company's H Shares, acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the EGM.

By Order of the Board
China Telecom Corporation Limited
Wong Yuk Har
Company Secretary

Beijing, China, 18 April 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (exercising the powers of the chairman and chief executive officer; as the president and chief operating officer); Mr. Gao Tongqing, Mr. Chen Zhongyue and Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).