Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness, and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENTS OF CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Ke Ruiwen ("Mr. Ke"), the Executive Director, President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company, has been appointed as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company with effect from 22 May 2019 until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2019 to be held in year 2020.

Mr. Ke Ruiwen, aged 55, obtained a doctorate degree in business administration (DBA) from the ESC Rennes School of Business. Mr. Ke served as Deputy Director General of Jiangxi Posts and Telecommunications Administration, Deputy General Manager of Jiangxi Telecom, Managing Director of the Marketing Department of the Company and China Telecommunications Corporation, General Manager of Jiangxi Telecom, Managing Director of the Human Resources Department of the Company and China Telecommunications Corporation, Executive Vice President of the Company, Vice President and President of China Telecommunications Corporation and the Chairman of Supervisory Committee of China Tower Corporation Limited. He is also the Chairman of China Telecommunications Corporation. Mr. Ke has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Ke did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any other position in any group companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Ke does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the appointments of Mr. Ke that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board will

determine the remuneration of Mr. Ke with reference to his duties, responsibilities, experience as well as current market conditions.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Wong Yuk Har Company Secretary

Beijing, China, 22 May 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the chairman, chief executive officer, president and chief operating officer); Mr. Gao Tongqing, Mr. Chen Zhongyue and Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).