Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

PROPOSED APPOINTMENTS OF DIRECTORS

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that the appointments of Mr. Liu Guiqing ("Mr. Liu") and Mr. Wang Guoquan ("Mr. Wang"), Executive Vice Presidents of the Company, as Executive Directors of the Company are proposed to the shareholders of the Company for approval at an extraordinary general meeting. The relevant appointments will become effective from the date of approval at the extraordinary general meeting of the Company to be convened until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2019 to be held in year 2020.

Mr. Liu Guiqing, age 52, an Executive Vice President of the Company. Mr. Liu is a professor-level senior engineer and received a doctorate degree in engineering science from National University of Defense Technology. Mr. Liu served as Deputy General Manager and General Manager of China Unicom Hunan branch and General Manager of China Unicom Jiangsu provincial branch. He is also a Vice President of China Telecommunications Corporation. Mr. Liu has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

Mr. Wang Guoquan, age 47, an Executive Vice President of the Company. Mr. Wang received an executive master degree of business administration (EMBA) from Business School, Renmin University of China. Mr. Wang served as Deputy General Manager and General Manager of the China Telecom Hebei branch and General Manager of the Marketing Department of China Telecommunications Corporation. He is also a Vice President of China Telecommunications Corporation and a director of Besttone Holding Co.,Ltd.. Mr. Wang has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any other position in any group companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang do not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed appointments of Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The proposed appointments of Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang as Executive Directors of the Company will be submitted for approval by the shareholders of the Company at the extraordinary general meeting. Upon the approval at the extraordinary general meeting be obtained, the Company will enter into service contracts with Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang, respectively. The Board, after obtaining the authorisation at the extraordinary general meeting, will determine the remuneration of Mr. Liu and Mr. Wang with reference to their duties, responsibilities, experience as well as current market conditions. A circular of the extraordinary general meeting in relation to the proposed appointments will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Ke Ruiwen

Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, President and Chief Operating Officer

Beijing, China, 28 June 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the chairman, chief executive officer, president and chief operating officer); Mr. Gao Tongqing, Mr. Chen Zhongyue and Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).