Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF MEMBERS OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to her intention to focus on other business commitments and engagements, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura ("Madam Cha") has resigned from her positions as an independent non-executive director as well as a member and the Chairlady of the Nomination Committee of the Company with effect from 28 May 2018. Madam Cha has confirmed that she has no disagreement with the Board and did not have any matters in relation to her resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Madam Cha for her valuable contribution to the Company during her tenure of office.

The Board also announces that Madam Wang Hsuehming, an independent non-executive director of the Company, has been appointed as a member and the Chairlady of the Nomination Committee of the Company with effect from 28 May 2018.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Yang Jie

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 28 May 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Liu Aili (as the president and chief operating officer); Mr. Ke Ruiwen, Mr. Gao Tongqing and Mr. Chen Zhongyue (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).