Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF IMPORTANT EXECUTIVE POSITION

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that due to change in work arrangement, Mr. Gao Tongqing ("Mr. Gao") has resigned from his positions as an executive director and executive vice president of the Company with effect from 17 January 2020. Mr. Gao has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and did not have any matters in relation to his resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Gao for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office.

By Order of the Board
China Telecom Corporation Limited
Ke Ruiwen

Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, President and Chief Operating Officer

Beijing, China, 17 January 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the chairman, chief executive officer, president and chief operating officer); Mr. Chen Zhongyue, Mr. Liu Guiqing, Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) and Mr. Wang Guoquan (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).