Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

PROPOSED ELECTION OF SUPERVISOR

References are made to the announcement dated 24 March 2020 and the circular dated 9 April 2020, respectively, of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") which set out, among other things, details of the proposed re-election of Supervisors and the retirement of a Supervisor. The board of directors (the "Board") of the Company announces that the supervisory committee of the Company (the "Supervisory Committee") has nominated Mr. You Minqiang ("Mr. You") as a Supervisor of the Company. The Company will propose the election of Mr. You as a Shareholder Representative Supervisor of the seventh session of the Supervisory Committee for the approval by the shareholders of the Company at the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2019 (the "Annual General Meeting") to be convened. The relevant appointment will become effective from the date of approval at the Annual General Meeting until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2022 to be held in year 2023.

Mr. You Minqiang, age 46, is a senior economist. He graduated from Hangzhou University and received a bachelor degree in education. Mr. You serves as a Deputy Director of the Organisation Department (Human Resources Department) of Zhejiang Financial Development Company (one of the domestic shareholders of the Company) and the Chairman of the Supervisory Committee of Zhejiang Nongdu Agricultural Products Co., Ltd.. Mr. You served in Armed Police Hangzhou Command School and Zhejiang Provincial Financial Holdings Co., Ltd.. He has extensive experience in the field of human resources.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. You did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years nor does he currently take up any other position in any group companies of the Company or have any relationship with any other Director, Supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. You does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed election of Mr. You that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The proposal for the election of Supervisor will be submitted for approval by the shareholders of the Company at the Annual General Meeting. Upon the appointment of Mr. You as a Supervisor having been approved at the Annual General Meeting, the Company will enter into a service contract with Mr. You. The Supervisory Committee, after obtaining the authorisation from the shareholders of the Company at the Annual General Meeting, will determine the remuneration of Mr. You with reference to his duties, responsibilities, experience as well as current market conditions. A supplemental circular for the Annual General Meeting in relation to the proposed election of Supervisor will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Ke Ruiwen

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 7 May 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the chairman and chief executive officer); Mr. Chen Zhongyue, Mr. Liu Guiqing, Madam Zhu Min (as the chief financial officer) and Mr. Wang Guoquan (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the non-executive director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the independent non-executive directors).