Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 728)

## APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT AND PROPOSED APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Tang Ke ("Mr. Tang") has been appointed as an Executive Vice President of the Company. The relevant appointment will become effective from 29 November 2021 until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2022 to be held in year 2023. Meanwhile, the Board proposes to appoint Mr. Tang as an Executive Director of the Company for the approval of the shareholders of the Company at an extraordinary general meeting. The relevant appointment will become effective from the date of approval at an extraordinary general meeting of the Company to be convened (the "Extraordinary General Meeting") until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2023.

Mr. Tang Ke, age 47, currently serves as a Vice President of China Telecommunications Corporation. Mr. Tang is a senior accountant and received a master's degree in investment economics from Central University of Finance and Economics in 1999. Mr. Tang previously served as the General Manager of the Finance Department of both China Telecommunications Corporation and the Company, and as the General Manager of China Telecom Anhui branch and Guangdong branch. Mr. Tang has extensive experience in finance, management and the telecommunications industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Tang did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies nor take up any other position in any group companies of the Company in the past three years, nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Tang does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong. Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the proposed appointment of Mr. Tang that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The proposed appointment of Mr. Tang as an Executive Director of the Company will be submitted for approval by the shareholders of the Company at the Extraordinary General Meeting. Upon the approval at the Extraordinary General Meeting be obtained, the Company will enter into a service contract with Mr. Tang. The Board, after obtaining the authorisation at the Extraordinary General Meeting, will determine the remuneration of Mr. Tang with reference to his duties, responsibilities, experience as well as current market conditions. A circular of the Extraordinary General Meeting containing, among other things, details of the proposed appointment will be despatched to the shareholders of the Company in due course.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Ke Ruiwen Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 29 November 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer); Mr. Li Zhengmao (as the President and Chief Operating Officer); Mr. Shao Guanglu; Mr. Liu Guiqing and Madam Zhu Min (as the Chief Financial Officer) (all as the Executive Vice Presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the Non-Executive Director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the Independent Non-Executive Directors).