Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENTS OF PRESIDENT AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Shao Guanglu ("Mr. Shao"), an Executive Director of the Company, has been appointed as the President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company. The relevant appointments will become effective from 16 August 2022 until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2022 to be held in year 2023.

Mr. Shao Guanglu, age 58, is an Executive Director of the Company. He joined the Board of the Company in May 2020. Mr. Shao is a professor level senior engineer with a doctorate degree in management. Mr. Shao served as a Deputy General Manager of China United Network Communications Group Company Limited, an Executive Director and Senior Vice President of China Unicom (Hong Kong) Limited which is listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "HKSE"), a Senior Vice President of China United Network Communications Limited which is listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange, a Director and Senior Vice President of China United Network Communications Corporation Limited, a Non-Executive Director of China Communications Services Corporation Limited, China Tower Corporation Limited and PCCW Limited, all of which are listed on the Main Board of the HKSE, a member of the board of directors of Open Networking Foundation, a member of the strategy committee of GSM Association and a Vice President of China Information Technology Industry Federation. Mr. Shao is currently a Director and the President of China Telecommunications Corporation and a Deputy Director of Communications Science and Technology Committee of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology of the People's Republic of China. Mr. Shao has extensive experience in management and the telecommunications industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Shao did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years nor does he currently take up any other position in any group companies of the Company and nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, as of the date of this announcement, Mr. Shao does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of Laws of Hong Kong). Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the appointments of Mr. Shao that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board will determine the remuneration of Mr. Shao with reference to his duties, responsibilities, experience as well as the current market condition.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Ke Ruiwen

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Beijing, China, 16 August 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer); Mr. Shao Guanglu (as the President and Chief Operating Officer); Mr. Liu Guiqing and Mr. Tang Ke (both as the Executive Vice Presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the Non-Executive Director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the Independent Non-Executive Directors).