Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

APPOINTMENT OF IMPORTANT EXECUTIVE POSITION

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Li Yinghui ("Mr. Li"), an Executive Vice President and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company, has been appointed as Secretary of the Board of the Company. The relevant appointment will become effective from 5 September 2022 until the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2022 to be held in year 2023.

Mr. Li Yinghui, age 51, an Executive Vice President and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company, is a senior accountant, a member of the Chinese Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants with a master degree in accountancy. Mr. Li previously served as a Deputy Director of Financial Department of China Huaneng Group Co., Ltd. (formerly known as "China Huaneng Group"), a Director of Financial and Budget Department of Huaneng Power International, Inc. which is listed on the Main Board of Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited respectively and a Director of Financial and Asset Management Department of China Huaneng Group Co., Ltd.. He is currently the Chief Accountant of China Telecommunications Corporation. Mr. Li has extensive experience in finance, management and the fundamental industry.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Li did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in the past three years nor take up any other positions in any group companies of the Company and nor have any relationship with any other director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Company. Furthermore, Mr. Li does not have any interests in shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of Laws of Hong Kong). Save as disclosed herein, there is no other information relating to the appointment of Mr. Li that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) (h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor any matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Ke Ruiwen Chairman and Chief Executive Officer As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Ke Ruiwen (as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer); Mr. Shao Guanglu (as the President and Chief Operating Officer); Mr. Liu Guiqing and Mr. Tang Ke (both as the Executive Vice Presidents); Mr. Chen Shengguang (as the Non-Executive Director); Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Mr. Xu Erming, Madam Wang Hsuehming and Mr. Yeung Chi Wai, Jason (all as the Independent Non-Executive Directors).