

CHINA UNICOM LIMITED (Stock Code: 762)

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

Announcement Poll Results at Annual General Meeting

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of China Unicom Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the shareholders of the Company passed by way of poll the ordinary resolutions proposed at the Annual General Meeting (the "AGM") of the Company held on 12 May 2006. The poll results are as follows:-

		No. of Votes (%)			
	Agenda	For	Against		
1.	To receive and consider the financial statements	10,544,011,254	0		
	and the Reports of the Directors and of the	(100.0000%)	(0.0000%)		
	Auditors for the year ended 31 December 2005.				
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the				
	resolution was duly passed.				
2.	To declare a final dividend of RMB0.11	10,731,122,254	0		
	(HK\$0.10647) per share for the year ended 31	(100.0000%)	(0.0000%)		
	December 2005.				
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the				
	resolution was duly passed.				
3.	(a) To elect or re-elect:				
	(i) Mr. Chang Xiaobing as a Director;	10,727,923,810	266,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(ii) Mr. Tong Jilu as a Director;	10,727,923,810	266,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(iii) Ms. Li Jianguo as a Director;	10,726,669,410	272,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(iv) Mr. Yang Xiaowei as a Director;	10,727,923,810	266,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(v) Mr. Li Zhengmao as a Director;	10,727,917,810	272,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(vi) Mr. Li Gang as a Director;	10,727,917,810	272,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(vii) Mr. Zhang Junan as a Director;	10,727,923,810	266,000		
		(99.9975%)	(0.0025%)		
	(viii) Mr. Lu Jianguo as a Director;	10,727,915,810	274,000		
		(99.9974%)	(0.0026%)		

		No. of Votes (%)		
	Agenda	For	Against	
	(ix) Mr. Cheung Wing Lam, Linus, as a Director;	10,728,183,810	6,000	
		(99.9999%)	(0.0001%)	
	(x) Mr. Wong Wai Ming as a Director; and	10,728,189,810	0	
		(100.0000%)	(0.0000%)	
	(b) To authorize the Directors to fix remuneration	10,723,089,506	4,404,304	
	of the Directors for the year ending 31 December 2006.	(99.9589%)	(0.0411%)	
As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolutions resolutions were duly passed.				
4.	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as auditors,	10,730,584,254	2,000	
	and to authorize the Directors to fix their	(100.0000%)	(0.0000%)	
	remuneration for the year ending 31 December 2006.			
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the			
	resolution was duly passed.			
5.	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to	10,730,142,254	280,000	
	repurchase shares in the Company not exceeding	(99.9974%)	(0.0026%)	
	10% of the aggregate nominal amount of the			
	existing issued share capital.			
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the			
	resolution was duly passed.			
) .	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to	10,370,782,504	356,732,750	
	issue, allot and deal with additional shares in the	(96.6746%)	(3.3254%)	
	Company not exceeding 20% of the existing			
	issued share capital.			
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the			
	resolution was duly passed.			
7.	To extend the general mandate granted to the	10,718,364,860	12,755,394	
	Directors to issue, allot and deal with shares by	(99.8811%)	(0.1189%)	
	the number of shares repurchased.			
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the			
	resolution was duly passed.			

As of the date of the AGM, the total number of issued shares entitling the shareholders of the Company to attend and vote at the meeting is 12,583,143,270 shares. There are no restrictions on any shareholders casting votes on any of the resolutions at the AGM.

The scrutineer for the vote-taking of the poll of the AGM was the share registrar of the Company, Hong Kong Registrars Limited.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Executive directors:	Chang Xiaobing, Shang Bing, Tong Jilu, Li Jianguo, Yang Xiaowei, Li Zhengmao, Li Gang and Zhang Junan
Non-executive director:	Lu Jianguo
Independent non-executive directors:	Wu Jinglian, Shan Weijian, Cheung Wing Lam, Linus, and Wong Wai Ming
	Devenden of the Doord

By order of the Board China Unicom Limited Chu Ka Yee Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 12 May 2006

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in South China Morning Post.