Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



## CHINA UNICOM (HONG KONG) LIMITED

中國聯合網絡通信(香港)股份有限公司 (incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 0762)

Announcement

Expansion of TD-LTE/LTE FDD Hybrid Network Trial

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 13.09 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571).

On 28 August 2014, China Unicom (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Company") was notified by its ultimate parent company, China United Network Communications Group Company Limited (中國聯合網絡通信集團有限公司) ("Unicom Group"), that, on the basis that Unicom Group has obtained the approval to conduct TD-LTE/LTE FDD hybrid network trial in 16 cities (including Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Zhengzhou, Wuhan, Chengdu, Xi'an, Changsha, Jinan, Hangzhou, Shenyang, Harbin, Fuzhou, Nanjing and Shijiazhuang), the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology of the People's Republic of China has approved Unicom Group to expand the TD-LTE/LTE FDD hybrid network trial to 40 cities. The 24 additional cities include Beijing, Tianjin, Suzhou, Qingdao, Dongguan, Dalian, Ningbo, Changchun, Haikou, Taiyuan, Nanning, Yantai, Xiamen, Kunming, Hefei, Guiyang, Luoyang, Tangshan, Hohhot, Yulin, Lanzhou, Xining, Nanchang and Yinchuan. China United Network Communications Corporation Limited (中國聯合網絡通信有限公司), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, will continue to be responsible for the hybrid network trial.

## By Order of the Board CHINA UNICOM (HONG KONG) LIMITED CHU KA YEE Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 28 August 2014

As of the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises:

Executive directors	:	Chang Xiaobing, Lu Yimin, Li Fushen and Zhang Junan
Non-executive director	:	Cesareo Alierta Izuel
Independent non-executive directors	:	Cheung Wing Lam Linus, Wong Wai Ming, John Lawson Thornton, Chung Shui Ming Timpson, Cai Hongbin and Law Fan Chiu Fun Fanny