Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA MOTOR BUS COMPANY, LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 026)

RETIREMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of China Motor Bus Company, Limited (the "Company") hereby announces that Dr. LIU Lit-mo ("Dr. LIU"), an independent non-executive director ("INED") of the Board, has informed the Board that due to other business and personal engagements, he will retire as an Independent non-Executive Director of the Company by rotation at the conclusion of the 2016 Ordinary Yearly Meeting of the Company to be held on 28 October 2016 and will not offer himself for re-election.

Dr. LIU confirms that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter which would need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board wishes to express its gratitude to Dr. Liu for his wise counsel and outstanding contributions to the Company throughout his tenure as INED of the Company.

Following Dr. LIU's retirement, the Company would only have two INEDs, namely Mr. Anthony Grahame Stott and Mr. Stephen Tan. As such, the number of INEDs would fall below the minimum number required under Rule 3.10(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing Rules"). The Board is in the process of identifying a suitable candidate to fill the position of Dr. LIU as an INED as soon as practicable and in any event within 3 months from the date of Dr. Liu's retirement pursuant to Rule 3.11 of the Listing Rules. Further announcement will be made by the Company as and when appropriate.

By Order of the Board
China Motor Bus Company, Limited
Kwok Pun Tak
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 21 September 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises NGAN Kit-ling, Dr. NGAN Kit-keung, Dr. Henry NGAN, Dr. LIU Lit-mo*, Fritz HELMREICH, Anthony Grahame STOTT* and Stephen TAN*.

^{*} Independent non-executive director