Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **CSPC PHARMACEUTICAL GROUP LIMITED**

石藥集團有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock code: 1093)

## **VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT**

## **"PREGABALIN CAPSULES" OBTAINS DRUG REGISTRATION APPROVAL**

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of CSPC Pharmaceutical Group Limited (the "**Company**", together with its subsidiaries, the "**Group**") is pleased to announce that the "Pregabalin Capsules (75mg, 150mg)" (the "**Product**") developed by CSPC Ouyi Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.\* (石藥集團歐 意藥業有限公司), a subsidiary of the Company, has obtained drug registration approval granted by the National Medical Products Administration of the People's Republic of China, and is deemed to have passed the consistency of quality and efficacy evaluation of generic drugs.

The Product is indicated for the treatment of postherpetic neuralgia and fibromyalgia. Pregabalin is a structural derivative of the inhibitory neurotransmitter gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) but has no effects on GABA uptake or degradation. Pregabalin binds with a high affinity to the  $\alpha 2$ - $\delta$  site in central nervous system tissues, thereby reducing the release of neurotransmitters such as glutamate and norepinephrine.

The approval of the Product further enriches the Group's product portfolio for nervous system diseases and offers patients with more medication options.

By order of the Board **CSPC Pharmaceutical Group Limited Cai Dongchen** *Chairman* 

Hong Kong, 8 June 2021

\* For identification purposes only

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. CAI Dongchen, Mr. ZHANG Cuilong, Mr. WANG Zhenguo, Mr. PAN Weidong, Mr. WANG Huaiyu, Dr. LI Chunlei, Dr. WANG Qingxi, Mr. CHAK Kin Man and Dr. JIANG Hao as executive directors; and Mr. WANG Bo, Mr. CHEN Chuan, Prof. WANG Hongguang, Mr. AU Chun Kwok Alan and Mr. LAW Cheuk Kin Stephen as independent non-executive directors.