Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0038)

## CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Reference is made to the notice of extraordinary general meeting (the "**EGM**") of First Tractor Company Limited (the "**Company**") dated 6 November 2009 and the notice of EGM contained in the Company's circular of even date.

As 21 November 2009 is Saturday on which the Company's office and the Company's H share registrar, Hong Kong Registrars Limited, will be closed, the Company hereby amends Note 1 of the notice of EGM to read as follows:

"The register of members of the Company will be temporarily closed from 22 November 2009 to 22 December 2009 (both days inclusive) during which no transfer of shares of the Company (the "Shares") will be registered in order to determine the list of shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholders") for attending the EGM. The last lodgment for the transfer of the H Shares and the domestic Shares of the Company should be made on 20 November 2009 at Hong Kong Registrars Limited and the Company's registered and principal office respectively by or before

4:00 p.m. The Shareholders or their proxies being registered on 22 November 2009 are entitled to attend the EGM by presenting their identity documents. The address of Hong Kong Registrars Limited, the H Share registrar of the Company, is Shops 1712-1716, 17/F., Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong."

By Order of the Board

First Tractor Company Limited

YU Lina

Company Secretary

Luoyang, the PRC 6 November 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises four executive Directors, namely Mr. Liu Dagong, Ms. Dong Jianhong, Mr. Qu Dawei and Mr. Li Xibin, and four non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Zhao Yanshui, Mr. Yan Linjiao, Mr. Shao Haichen and Mr. Liu Yongle, and three independent non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Chan Sau Shan, Gary, Mr. Luo Xiwen and Mr. Hong Xianguo.

\* For identification purpose only