Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## CHANGE OF INFORMATION OF A DIRECTOR

This announcement is made by Guoco Group Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.51B(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange") (the "Listing Rules").

The board of directors of the Company (the "Board") has been informed by Mr. Kwek Leng San ("Mr. Kwek LS"), a non-executive director of the Company, that on 1 August 2017, Malaysian Newsprint Industries Sdn Bhd ('MNI'), of which Mr. Kwek LS is a director, had appointed an interim liquidator to commence creditors' voluntary winding-up proceedings of MNI on even day in accordance with Section 440(1) of the Companies Act 2016 of Malaysia.

MNI was incorporated in Malaysia on 4 August 1976 and is principally engaged in the manufacture and sale of newsprint. The board of MNI was of the opinion that MNI could not continue its business. MNI had been operating under very difficult market conditions, especially declining newsprint demand, and has incurred losses for the past 3 years. Based on the unaudited financial statements of MNI as at 30 June 2017, the total liabilities were approximately RM196.2 million.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, there is no other matter concerning change in information of Mr. Kwek LS that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board Stella Lo Sze Man Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 4 August 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Kwek Leng Hai as Executive Chairman; Mr. Tang Hong Cheong as President & CEO; Mr. Kwek Leng San and Mr. Tan Lim Heng as Non-executive Directors and Mr. Volker Stoeckel, Mr. Roderic N. A. Sage and Mr. David Michael Norman as Independent Non-executive Directors.