Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock Code: 53)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT BUSINESS UPDATE ON THE RANK GROUP PLC

This announcement is made by Guoco Group Limited ("Guoco" or the "Company") on a voluntary basis. The Rank Group Plc ("Rank"), a subsidiary of Guoco and listed on London Stock Exchange Plc ("LSE"), published a business update on 25 August 2021 regarding the VAT refund claim.

In November 2020, Rank took a litigation to the First Tier Tribunal of the UK ("FTT") against HM Revenue and Customs ("HMRC") on whether certain slot machine income were exempt from VAT in the period from April 2006 to January 2013. On 30 June 2021, FTT handed down its ruling in Rank's favour and HMRC had 56 days to lodge an appeal.

On 25 August 2021, Rank noted the decision by HMRC that it has decided not to appeal against FTT's ruling. The FTT has agreed a 60-day extension to allow HMRC and Rank to agree the exact quantum of the claim which Rank expects to be approximately £80m.

Shareholders and potential investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing in the securities of the Company.

(Note: The expression "£" in this announcement means "Pounds Sterling")

Remarks: The business update of Rank dated 25 August 2021 is accessible at LSE's website (http://www.londonstockexchange.com) and is also posted by Guoco as an overseas regulatory announcement on the websites of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (http://www.hkexnews.hk) and Guoco (http://www.guoco.com).

By Order of the Board Stella Lo Sze Man Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 25 August 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of Guoco comprises Mr. KWEK Leng Hai as Executive Chairman; Mr. CHEW Seong Aun as Executive Director; Mr. KWEK Leng San as Non-executive Director and Mr. Roderic N. A. SAGE, Mr. David Michael NORMAN and Mr. Lester G. HUANG, SBS, J.P. as Independent Non-executive Directors.