Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 13)

Annual General Meeting and Extraordinary General Meeting held on 21 May 2009 – Poll Results

The poll results in respect of the resolutions proposed at the annual general meeting ("AGM") and extraordinary general meeting ("EGM") (collectively the "Meetings") of Hutchison Whampoa Limited (the "Company") held on 21 May 2009 are as follows:

Resolutions proposed at the AGM		Number of Votes (%)*			
		For	Against		
1	To receive and adopt the statement of audited accounts and reports of the directors and auditor for the year ended 31 December 2008.	3,042,443,677 (99.8830%)	3,564,100 (0.1170%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
2	To declare a final dividend.	3,120,781,450 (99.9999%)	4,100 (0.0001%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
3(1)	To re-elect Li Ka-shing as a director.	3,040,103,624 (97.4117%)	80,779,012 (2.5883%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
3(2)	To re-elect Chow Woo Mo Fong, Susan as a director.	3,021,988,220 (97.1427%)	88,888,416 (2.8573%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
3(3)	To re-elect Lai Kai Ming, Dominic as a director.	2,691,229,935 (86.2329%)	429,654,501 (13.7671%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
3(4)	To re-elect William Shurniak as a director.	2,956,140,056 (94.7215%)	164,734,573 (5.2785%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
4	To appoint auditor and authorise the directors to fix the auditor's remuneration.	3,118,713,141 (99.9436%)	1,760,509 (0.0564%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.				
5	Ordinary Resolution No 5: to approve the directors' remuneration.	3,118,747,587 (99.9923%)	239,309 (0.0077%)		
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.	,	,		

6(1)	Ordinary Resolution No 6(1): to give a general mandate to the directors to issue additional shares.	2,579,158,874 (82.6314%)	542,124,124 (17.3686%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		
6(2)	Ordinary Resolution No 6(2): to approve the purchase by the Company of its own shares.	3,105,063,364 (99.4788%)	16,268,234 (0.5212%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		
6(3)	Ordinary Resolution No 6(3): to extend the general mandate in Ordinary Resolution No 6(1).	2,591,026,514 (83.0114%)	530,263,464 (16.9886%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		
7	Ordinary Resolution No 7: to approve amendments to the 2004 share option plan of Partner Communications Company Ltd. ("Partner").	2,707,266,000 (87.0146%)	404,012,283 (12.9854%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.	1	

Resolutions proposed at the EGM		Number of Votes (%)*	
		For	Against
1	Ordinary Resolution No 1: to approve the share option scheme of Hutchison Telecommunications Hong Kong Holdings Limited ("HTHKH").	2,603,332,744 (83.3239%)	521,018,949 (16.6761%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		
2	Ordinary Resolution No 2: to approve the entering into of the CKH Master Agreement and to empower the directors to approve acquisition of CKH Connected Debt Securities subject to and in accordance with the prescribed terms and conditions.	929,787,649 (99.7066%)	2,735,681 (0.2934%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.		
3	Ordinary Resolution No 3: to approve the entering into of the HSE Master Agreement and to empower the directors to approve acquisition of HSE Connected Debt Securities subject to and in accordance with the prescribed terms and conditions.	3,071,476,329 (99.9105%)	2,752,174 (0.0895%)
	The resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.	1	

^{*} All percentages rounded to 4 decimal places.

As at the date of the Meetings, the issued share capital of the Company was 4,263,370,780 ordinary shares of HK\$0.25 each ("Shares"), being the total number of Shares entitling the holders thereof (the "Shareholders") to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions proposed at the Meetings, other than the Ordinary Resolutions Nos. 2 and 3 of the EGM. There were no Shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote only against any of the resolutions.

In relation to Ordinary Resolution No. 2 of the EGM, the total number of Shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote for or against such Ordinary Resolution was 2,071,298,237. Cheung Kong (Holdings) Limited, Mr Li Tzar Kuoi, Victor and their respective associates which

together interested in 2,192,072,543 Shares, representing approximately 51.42% of the issued share capital of the Company as at the date of EGM, were required to, and did, abstain from voting on this resolution.

In relation to Ordinary Resolution No. 3 of the EGM, the total number of Shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote for or against such Ordinary Resolution was 4,212,997,010. Mr Li Ka-shing and his associates which together interested in 50,373,770 Shares, representing approximately 1.18% of the issued share capital of the Company as at the date of EGM, were required to, and did, abstain from voting on this resolution.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Share Registrars of the Company, acted as scrutineers for the poll at the Meetings.

For and on behalf of HUTCHISON WHAMPOA LIMITED

Edith Shih

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 21 May 2009

As at the date of this announcement and after the conclusion of the Meetings, the Directors of the Company are:

Executive Directors:

Mr LI Ka-shing (Chairman)
Mr LI Tzar Kuoi, Victor (Deputy Chairman)
Mr FOK Kin-ning, Canning
Mrs CHOW WOO Mo Fong, Susan
Mr Frank John SIXT
Mr LAI Kai Ming, Dominic
Mr KAM Hing Lam

Non-executive Directors:

Mr George Colin MAGNUS Mr William SHURNIAK

Independent Non-executive Directors:

The Hon Sir Michael David KADOORIE
Mr Holger KLUGE
Mr William Elkin MOCATTA
(Alternate to The Hon Sir Michael David Kadoorie)
Mr WONG Chung Hin