Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

Hutchison Whampoa Limited



(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 13)

## ANNOUNCEMENT

The Board announces a recent development as informed by its subsidiary 3 UK.

The board of directors (the "Board") of Hutchison Whampoa Limited (the "Company") announces that as noted in the Company's 2009 results announcement of 30 March 2010, the 2009 earnings of the Group include the effect of an indefinite extension of the telecommunication licence of **3** UK resulting in a reduction of amortisation of HK\$2,926 million for **3** UK. The useful life of the **3** UK licence was revised on the basis that the Statutory Instrument currently before the UK houses of Parliament, which, inter alia, changes the life of the licence to indefinite, will be enacted by the current Parliament.

**3** UK has been advised that, due to the UK General Election announced on Tuesday, 6 April 2010, the Statutory Instrument will not be enacted by the current Parliament. **3** UK has, however, received assurances from both the current Minister responsible and the shadow Minister responsible that the matter will be considered following the elections. In the circumstances, the Board has determined not to take any action at this time pending further developments in this matter.

By Order of the Board

## Edith Shih

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 7 April 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

## **Executive Directors:**

Mr LI Ka-shing (*Chairman*) Mr LI Tzar Kuoi, Victor (*Deputy Chairman*) Mr FOK Kin-ning, Canning Mrs CHOW WOO Mo Fong, Susan Mr Frank John SIXT Mr LAI Kai Ming, Dominic Mr KAM Hing Lam

## **Non-executive Directors:**

Mr George Colin MAGNUS Mr William SHURNIAK

Independent Non-executive Directors: The Hon Sir Michael David KADOORIE Mr Holger KLUGE Mrs Margaret LEUNG KO May Yee Mr William Elkin MOCATTA (Alternate to The Hon Sir Michael David Kadoorie) Mr WONG Chung Hin