Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.





(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 13)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of the Company announces that Ms Lee Wai Mun, Rose has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 1 November 2012.

The board of Directors (the "Board") of Hutchison Whampoa Limited (the "Company") announces that Ms Lee Wai Mun, Rose ("Ms Lee") has been appointed as Independent Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 1 November 2012.

Ms Lee, aged 59, is an executive director, vice-chairman and chief executive of Hang Seng Bank Limited (a listed company in Hong Kong), and the chairman and a member of its executive committee and nomination committee respectively. She is also the chairman of Hang Seng Bank (China) Limited. In addition, she is a director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, an independent non-executive director of Swire Pacific Limited (a listed company in Hong Kong), vice chairman of the China Committee of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce, vice president of The Hong Kong Institute of Bankers, a member of the advisory committee of the Centre for Transportation, Trade and Financial Studies of the City University of Hong Kong, a member of the court of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, the honorary treasurer and member of the executive committee of the Hong Kong Shipowners' Association and member of the board of trustees of Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation. Ms Lee holds a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration.

Save as disclosed above, Ms Lee has not held any directorship in any other publicly listed companies, whether in Hong Kong or overseas, during the last three years. Ms Lee does not have any relationship with any Directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof, Ms Lee has interests in 150,000 ordinary shares of the Company held under a trust of which she is one of the beneficiaries within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. There is a service agreement entered into between the Company and Ms Lee for the appointment of Ms Lee as Independent Non-executive Director of the Company for an initial term from 1 November 2012 to 31 December 2012 which will be automatically renewed for successive 12-month periods, subject to re-election at the next annual general meeting of the Company in accordance with the provisions of the Articles of Association of the Company. The director's fee specified in the service agreement is

HK\$120,000 per annum. Such fees are subject to pro-ration in the event the duration of her directorship is for an incomplete year and the review by the Board from time to time.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters concerning the appointment of Ms Lee as Independent Non-executive Director that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company nor any information to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board would like to extend a warm welcome to Ms Lee on her appointment.

By Order of the Board

Edith Shih

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 1 November 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of the Company are:

Executive Directors:

Mr LI Ka-shing (Chairman)
Mr LI Tzar Kuoi, Victor (Deputy Chairman)
Mr FOK Kin Ning, Canning
Mrs CHOW WOO Mo Fong, Susan
Mr Frank John SIXT
Mr LAI Kai Ming, Dominic
Mr KAM Hing Lam

Non-executive Director:

Mr George Colin MAGNUS

Independent Non-executive Directors:

The Hon Sir Michael David KADOORIE
Mr Holger KLUGE
Ms LEE Wai Mun, Rose
Mr William Elkin MOCATTA
(Alternate to The Hon Sir Michael David Kadoorie)
Mr William SHURNIAK
Mr WONG Chung Hin