Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



UNITED GENE HIGH-TECH GROUP LIMITED

聯合基因科技集團有限公司

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands and continued in Bermuda with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 399)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT

This is a voluntary announcement made by United Gene High-Tech Group Limited (the "Company").

The Company has commenced negotiation from 12 April 2013 (after trading hours) with Dr. Mao Yumin ("**Dr. Mao**"), who is (i) a controlling shareholder (as defined under the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**")) of the Company; and (ii) one of the subscribers under the subscription agreement as announced on the announcement of the Company dated 18 February 2013, on a possible acquisition of Dr. Mao's investments in oral insulin related business, including but not limited to the securities of Extrawell Pharmaceutical Holdings Limited (*Stock Code: 858*) (the "**Possible Acquisition**").

If materialized, the Possible Acquisition may constitute a notifiable transaction for the Company. As at the date of this announcement, the Company has not entered into any written agreement, memorandum of understanding, letter of understanding or intention concerning the Possible Acquisition. Therefore, the Possible Acquisition may or may not materialise.

The Company will make further announcement as and when required in accordance with the Listing Rules.

Shareholders of the Company and potential investors should exercise extreme caution when dealing in the shares of the Company.

By order of the Board United Gene High-Tech Group Limited Lee Nga Yan Executive Director

Hong Kong, 15 April 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Ms. Jiang Nian (chairman & nonexecutive Director), Ms. Lee Nga Yan (executive Director), Dr. Guo Yi (executive Director), Ms. Xiao Yan (non-executive Director), Ms. Wu Yanmin (non-executive Director), Ms. Chen Weijun (independent non-executive Director), Dr. Zhang Zhihong (independent nonexecutive Director) and Mr. Wang Rongliang (independent non-executive Director).