Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



UNITED GENE HIGH-TECH GROUP LIMITED

聯合基因科技集團有限公司

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands and continued in Bermuda with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 399)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF ADVISER AND JOINT CHAIRMEN

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors") of the Company is pleased to announce the appointment on 25 October 2013 of Dr. Yu Wei Ping ("Dr. Yu") as Adviser and Joint Chairmen to the Department of Innovation and Strategic Development of the Company.

Dr. Yu, aged 55, shall utilize his pharmaceutical experience to provide innovation and strategy consultation in the pharmaceutical industry to the Company and its subsidiaries (the "Group") in relation to research and development of the Group's pharmaceutical and biotechnological related projects and products as well as other scientific technologies. He shall report to the Board.

Dr. Yu holds a Doctor of Science in Pharmaceutics from the Centre d'Etude Pharmaceutique, Université de Paris-Sud, France, a Master of Science in Pharmaceutics from the Shanghai Institute of Pharmaceutical Industry, the People's Republic of China (the "PRC") and a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from Shanghai Traditional Medical University, the PRC.

Dr. Yu has extensive experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnological industry. Dr. Yu was a senior director at Celsion Corporation, USA; director at Adherex Technologies Inc., Canada and senior scientist at Valentis, Inc., USA. Dr. Yu is a member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

By Order of the Board
United Gene High-Tech Group Limited
Lee Nga Yan

Executive Director

Hong Kong, 31 October 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Ms. Jiang Nian (chairman & non-executive Director), Ms. Lee Nga Yan (executive Director), Dr. Guo Yi (executive Director), Ms. Xiao Yan (non-executive Director), Ms. Wu Yanmin (non-executive Director), Ms. Chen Weijun (independent non-executive Director), Dr. Zhang Zhihong (independent non-executive Director) and Mr. Wang Rongliang (independent non-executive Director).