Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## UNITED GENE HIGH-TECH GROUP LIMITED

## 聯合基因科技集團有限公司

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands and continued in Bermuda with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 399)

## FURTHER DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR RELATING TO THE (1) MAJOR TRANSACTION:

(2) PROPOSED ISSUANCE OF CONVERTIBLE BONDS
UNDER THE SPECIFIC MANDATE; AND
(3) CONTINUING CONNECTED TRANSACTION
CONCERNING THE ACQUISITION OF 51% SHAREHOLDING
INTEREST IN SMART ASCENT LIMITED

Reference is made to the announcements of United Gene High-Tech Group Limited (the "Company") dated 18 March 2014 and 19 March 2014 (the "Announcements") in relation to, among others, the Transactions (as defined in the Announcement) and the announcement of the Company dated 23 April 2014 in relation to the delay in despatch of the Circular (the "Delay Announcement"). Capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement unless defined otherwise.

As disclosed in the Delay Announcement, a circular (the "Circular") containing, among other things, the Circular will be despatched to the Shareholders on or before 16 May 2014.

As additional time is required by the Company to prepare and finalise the contents of the Circular, the despatch of the Circular will be postponed to a date falling on or before 30 May 2014.

By Order of the Board
United Gene High-Tech Group Limited
Lee Nga Yan

Executive Director

Hong Kong, 16 May 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Ms. Jiang Nian (chairman & non-executive Director), Ms. Lee Nga Yan (executive Director), Dr. Guo Yi (executive Director), Ms. Xiao Yan (non-executive Director), Ms. Wu Yanmin (non-executive Director), Ms. Chen Weijun (independent non-executive Director), Dr. Zhang Zhihong (independent non-executive Director) and Mr. Wang Rongliang (independent non-executive Director).