## lenovo联想

## Lenovo Group Limited 聯想集團有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 0992)

## RESIGNATION AND APPOINTMENT OF ALTERNATE DIRECTOR

The Board of the Company announces that Mr Ricky Wai Kei Lau has resigned, and Mr Daniel Ashton Carroll has been appointed, as alternate Director to Mr Shan Weijian of the Company with effect from 26 May 2005.

The board of Directors (the "Board") of Lenovo Group Limited (the "Company") announces that due to personal reasons Mr Ricky Wai Kei Lau has resigned, and Mr Daniel Ashton Carroll has been appointed, as alternate Director to Mr Shan Weijian of the Company with effect from 26 May 2005.

Mr Daniel Ashton Carroll, age 44, has been appointed as alternate Director to Mr Shan Weijian of the Company with effect from 26 May 2005. Prior to joining the Group, Mr Carroll is Co-Managing Partner of Newbridge Capital, based in San Francisco. He joined Newbridge in 1995 and has been responsible for raising and investing the firm's three investment funds and building the firm's Asia-based investment teams. Mr Carroll runs Newbridge's investment committee and, together with Mr Shan Weijian, oversees the firm's investment strategy and operations. Prior to 1995, Mr Carroll spent nine years with Hambrecht & Quist Group, where he played a key role in the development of the firm's private equity investment operations in Asia. He lived in Bangkok from 1990-1991 and in Hong Kong from 1993-1995. He holds a BA in Economics from Harvard University and an MBA from the Stanford University Graduate School of Business. Mr Carroll is currently a director of Advanced Interconnect Technologies, Matrix Laboratories Ltd. and Shenzhen Development Bank. Mr Carroll has not previously held any positions with the Company or any of its subsidiaries. Save as other disclosed above, Mr Carroll did not hold any other directorship with any listed companies in the last three years and has no relationship with any other Directors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Company. There is no service contract between Mr Carroll and the Company and no terms have been fixed or proposed for his length of service with the Company. Pursuant to the Articles of Association, Mr Carroll will cease to be an alternate Director if Mr Shan ceases for any reason to be a Director and he is not entitled to receive from the Company any fee in his capacity as an alternate Director. According to the register maintained by the Company pursuant to section 352 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance as at the date of this announcement, Mr Carroll was not interested in any shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company.

The Board is not aware of any matters relating to the resignation of Mr Lau that needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors are Mr Yang Yuanqing, Mr Stephen Maurice Ward, Jr and Ms Ma Xuezheng; the Non-executive Directors are Mr Liu Chuanzhi, Mr Zhu Linan, Mr James G Coulter, Mr Shan Weijian, Mr William O Grabe, Mr Justin T Chang (alternate Director to Mr

James G Coulter), Mr Daniel Ashton Carroll (alternate Director to Mr Shan Weijian) and Mr Vince Feng (alternate Director to Mr William O Grabe); and Independent Non-executive Directors are Mr Wong Wai Ming, Professor Woo Chia-Wei and Mr Ting Lee Sen.

By order of the Board **Yang Yuanqing** *Chairman* 

Hong Kong, 26 May 2005

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard"