lenovo联想

Lenovo Group Limited 聯想集團有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0992)

CONTINUING CONNECTED TRANSACTIONS APPROVAL OF A DIRECTOR'S SERVICE CONTRACT

POLL RESULTS OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 9 AUGUST 2005

At the extraordinary general meeting of Lenovo Group Limited held today, the resolutions to approve the Continuing Connected Transactions and the Service Contract were duly passed.

Reference is made to the announcement of the Company dated 23 June 2005, the shareholders' circular of the Company (the "Circular") and the notice (the "Notice") of the Extraordinary General Meeting (the "EGM") of the Company both dated 23 July 2005 relating to the continuing connected transactions contemplated under the China Services Agreement and the Reverse Transition Services Agreement, and the service contract between the Company and Mr Stephen M Ward, Jr, an executive Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company, dated 30 April 2005. Unless otherwise defined herein, terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

POLL RESULTS OF EGM

At the EGM held today, voting of the proposed ordinary resolutions as set out in the notice of the EGM and contained in the Circular were taken on a poll. IBM and its associates abstained from voting on the resolutions in connection with the Continuing Connected Transactions ("Ordinary Resolutions No. 1 and No. 2"). Mr Ward and his associates abstained from voting on the resolution in connection with the Service Contract ("Ordinary Resolution No. 3"). (Ordinary Resolution No. 1, 2 and 3 collectively, the "Ordinary Resolutions").

The Board is pleased to announce that at the EGM, the Ordinary Resolutions were duly passed by the independent shareholders and the poll results are as follows:

		Number of votes cast and percentage of total number of votes cast		Total number of
Ordinary Resolutions (abbreviated)		For	Against	votes cast
1.	To approve the China Services Agreement and the proposed annual caps in respect of the continuing connected transactions thereunder for each of the three years ending 31 March 2008.	4,476,442,817 (100.00%)	0 (0.00%)	4,476,442,817
2.	To approve the Reverse Transition Services Agreement and the proposed annual caps in respect of the continuing connected transactions thereunder for each of the three years ending 31 March 2008.	4,476,442,817 (100.00%)	0 (0.00%)	4,476,442,817
3.	To approve the Service Contract.	5,407,353,332 (99.98%)	960,000 (0.02%)	5,408,313,332

Please refer to the Notice for the full version of the Ordinary Resolutions.

- (1) The total number of shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against Ordinary Resolutions No. 1 and No. 2 at the EGM: 7,487,798,108 Shares and 2,730,000 Convertible Preferred Shares, which entitled holders thereof to 1,001,834,862 votes.
- (2) The total number of shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against Ordinary Resolution No. 3 at the EGM: 8,418,668,623 Shares and 2,730,000 Convertible Preferred Shares, which entitled holders thereof to 1,001,834,862 votes.
- (3) There were no shares of the Company entitling the holders to attend and vote only against the resolutions at the EGM.
- (4) As disclosed in the Circular, IBM has a material interest in the Continuing Connected Transactions and therefore abstained from voting on Ordinary Resolutions No. 1 and No. 2 at the EGM. As at the date of the EGM, IBM was interested in 931,870,515 Shares and 375,282,756 Non-voting Shares. IBM and its associates abstained from voting on Ordinary Resolutions No. 1 and No. 2 at the EGM.
- (5) As disclosed in the Circular, Mr Ward has a material interest in the Service Contract and therefore abstained from voting on Ordinary Resolution No. 3 at the EGM. As at the date of the EGM, Mr Ward was interested in 1,000,000 Shares. Mr Ward and his associates abstained from voting on Ordinary resolution No. 3 at the EGM.
- (6) Abacus Share Registrars Limited, the share registrar of the Company, was appointed as scrutineer for the purpose of the poll taken at the EGM.

By order of the Board
Yang Yuanqing
Chairman

Hong Kong, 9 August 2005

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors are Mr Yang Yuanqing, Mr Stephen M Ward, Jr and Ms Ma Xuezheng; the Non-executive Directors are Mr Liu Chuanzhi, Mr Zhu Linan, Mr James G Coulter, Mr William O Grabe, Mr Shan Weijian, Mr Justin T Chang (alternate Director to Mr James G Coulter), Mr Vince Feng (alternate Director to Mr William O Grabe) and Mr Daniel A Carroll (alternate Director to Mr Shan Weijian); and Independent Non-executive Directors are Mr Wong Wai Ming, Professor Woo Chia-Wei and Mr Ting Lee Sen.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard"