Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company')
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 66)

TRADING HALT

Reference is made to the circular of the Company to its shareholders dated 7 January 2016 (the 'Circular'). At the request of the Company, trading in the shares (stock code: 66) in and listed debt securities (stock codes: 4541, 5958 and 6025) of the Company on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited has been halted with effect from 9:00 a.m. on 1 February 2016 pending the release of an inside information announcement on the poll result of the Company's general meeting to be held today at 11:00 a.m. in respect of the XRL Agreement and the XRL Arrangements (as defined in the Circular).

By Order of the Board **Gillian Elizabeth Meller** *Company Secretary*

Hong Kong, 1 February 2016

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang (Chairman)**, Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen (Chief Executive Officer), Pamela Chan Wong Shui*, Dr. Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai*, Vincent Cheng Hoi-chuen*, Dr. Eddy Fong Ching*, Edward Ho Sing-tin*, James Kwan Yuk-choi*, Lau Ping-cheung, Kaizer*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai*, Alasdair George Morrison*, Ng Leung-sing*, Abraham Shek Lai-him*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun*, Dr. Allan Wong Chi-yun*, Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)**, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung)**, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Hon Chi-keung)** and Commissioner for Transport (Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan)**

Members of the Executive Directorate: Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen, Morris Cheung Siu-wa, Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Stephen Law Cheuk-kin, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, Linda So Ka-pik, David Tang Chi-fai, Philco Wong Nai-keung and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.

^{*} independent non-executive Director

^{**} non-executive Director