Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company') (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 66)

FARE ADJUSTMENT MECHANISM

INSIDE INFORMATION

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the provisions under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

The Company has received a letter from Government requesting a joint review between Government and the Company of the Fare Adjustment Mechanism, with a view to advancing the next scheduled review due in 2018 by one year so that any agreed revision to the Fare Adjustment Mechanism applies in 2017.

The Fare Adjustment Mechanism was last reviewed in April 2013.

The Board of the Company will be convened to determine the Company's response to this request and the Company will make further announcement(s) in due course.

Definitions

"Fare Adjustment Mechanism" means the fare adjustment mechanism contained in the

Operating Agreement;

"Government" means the Government of the Hong Kong Special

Administrative Region; and

"Operating Agreement" means the Operating Agreement dated 9 August 2007

> made between the Company and the Secretary for Transport and Housing for and on behalf of Government

(as the same has been amended from time to time).

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang (Chairman)**, Lincoln Leong Kwokkuen (Chief Executive Officer), Pamela Chan Wong Shui*, Dr. Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai*, Vincent Cheng Hoi-chuen*, Dr. Eddy Fong Ching*, Edward Ho Sing-tin*, James Kwan Yukchoi*, Lau Ping-cheung, Kaizer*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai*, Alasdair George Morrison*, Ng Leungsing*, Abraham Shek Lai-him*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun*, Dr. Allan Wong Chi-yun*, Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)**, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung)**, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Hon Chi-keung)** and Commissioner for Transport (Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan)**

Members of the Executive Directorate: Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen, Morris Cheung Siu-wa, Peter Ronald Ewen, Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Stephen Law Cheuk-kin, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, Linda So Ka-pik, David Tang Chi-fai, Philco Wong Nai-keung and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- * independent non-executive Director
- ** non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.