Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company')
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 66)

Change of Alternate Director

The Company announces the following changes:-

- (1) Mr Lai Chi-wah, Andrew (Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury)2 ("DS(Tsy)2")) has been appointed as an Alternate Director to Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury) ("SFST"), a non-executive Director of the Company, with effect from 1 August 2016; and
- (2) Ms Mable Chan has ceased to be an Alternate Director to Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer with effect from 1 August 2016.

Mr Lai Chi-wah, Andrew

The Company announces that Mr Lai Chi-wah, Andrew (DS(Tsy)2) has been appointed as an Alternate Director to Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer (SFST), a non-executive Director of the Company, with effect from 1 August 2016.

Mr Lai (aged 45) has not entered into any contract of service with the Company nor is he appointed for a specific term. Mr Lai does not receive any emoluments from the Company.

Mr Lai joined the Hong Kong Government as an Administrative Officer in 1992. He holds a Bachelor of Social Science degree from The University of Hong Kong and a Master of Public Administration degree from Harvard University.

Save as disclosed above and as at the date of this announcement, Mr Lai has not held any directorship in the last three years in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas, and does not hold any other position with the Company or its subsidiaries.

Mr Lai is not related to any Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company except that he holds the post of DS(Tsy)2 in the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("Government"). The Financial Secretary Incorporated, a controlling shareholder of the Company, holds shares in the Company in trust for Government.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr Lai is not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong) (the "SFO") as recorded in the register required to be kept under section 352 of the SFO or as otherwise notified to the Company and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited pursuant to the Model Code for Securities Transactions by Directors of Listed Issuers.

In respect of Mr Lai's appointment, there is no other information which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements of the provisions of rules 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and there is no other matter relating to his appointment which needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

Ms Mable Chan

The Company also announces that Ms Mable Chan has ceased to be an Alternate Director to Professor Chan Ka-keung Ceajer, a non-executive Director of the Company, with effect from 1 August 2016. There is no matter relating to Ms Chan ceasing to be an Alternate Director of the Company that needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 1 August 2016

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang (Chairman)**, Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen (Chief Executive Officer), Pamela Chan Wong Shui*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai*, Vincent Cheng Hoi-chuen*, Anthony Chow Wing-kin*, Dr Eddy Fong Ching*, James Kwan Yuk-choi*, Lau Ping-cheung, Kaizer*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai*, Alasdair George Morrison*, Ng Leung-sing*, Abraham Shek Lai-him*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun*, Dr Allan Wong Chi-yun*, Professor Chan Ka-keung, Ceajer (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)**, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung)**, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Hon Chi-keung)** and Commissioner for Transport (Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan)**

Members of the Executive Directorate: Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen, Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Morris Cheung Siu-wa, Peter Ronald Ewen, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Adi Lau Tin-shing, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, Linda So Ka-pik, David Tang Chi-fai, Philco Wong Nai-keung and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- * independent non-executive Director
- ** non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.