Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

香港鐵路有限公司

('Company') (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 66)

## CHANGE OF DIRECTOR

The Company announces the following changes:

- (1) Mr Lam Sai-hung, who will be appointed to the post of the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) ('PS for D') with effect from 13 October 2018, will, by virtue of his aforesaid appointment, become a non-executive Director ('NED') of the Company as well as a member of each of the Capital Works Committee and the Risk Committee of the Company, all with effect from the same date; and
- (2) Mr Hon Chi-keung, who will retire from the post of PS for D with effect from 13 October 2018, will cease to be a NED and a member of each of the Capital Works Committee and the Risk Committee of the Company, all with effect from the same date.

The Company announces the following changes:

## Mr Lam Sai-hung

Mr Lam Sai-hung, who will be appointed to the post of PS for D with effect from 13 October 2018, will, by virtue of his aforesaid appointment, become a NED of the Company as well as a member of each of the Capital Works Committee and the Risk Committee of the Company, all with effect from the same date.

The PS for D is a NED of the Company appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ('HKSAR') pursuant to the Mass Transit Railway Ordinance (Chapter 556 of the Laws of Hong Kong) ('MTR Ordinance').

Mr Lam (aged 56) joined the Hong Kong Government as an Assistant Engineer in August 1986. He was promoted to Chief Engineer in August 2009, to Government Engineer in April 2012, and to Principal Government Engineer in May 2014. He has been the Director of Civil Engineering and Development since September 2016. Mr Lam is a graduate of The University of Hong Kong and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Engineering. He is a fellow of The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers, the Institution of Civil Engineers, United Kingdom, and the China Hong Kong Railway Institution. Mr Lam is also an adjunct professor of The University of Hong Kong.

Mr Lam will not enter into any contract of service with the Company nor is he appointed for a specific term. Pursuant to the Articles of Association of the Company, Directors appointed by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR pursuant to the MTR Ordinance are not required to retire by rotation at the annual general meetings of the Company. As a NED and a member of each of the Capital Works Committee and the Risk Committee of the Company, Mr Lam will be entitled to an annual gross emolument of HK\$450,000 as determined by the Board of Directors of the Company. The emolument will be received by the Government of the HKSAR rather than by Mr Lam personally.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr Lam does not have any interest in and does not hold any short positions in any shares or underlying shares in or any debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong) ('SFO') as recorded in the register required to be kept under section 352 of the SFO or as otherwise notified to the Company and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited pursuant to the "Model Code for Securities Transactions by Directors of Listed Issuers" as contained in Appendix 10 to the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ('Listing Rules').

Unless otherwise disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Mr Lam:

- (a) has not held any other directorship in the last three years in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas, and does not hold any other position with the Company or its subsidiaries; and
- (b) is not related to any Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company except that Mr Lam is an official of the Government of the HKSAR. The Financial Secretary Incorporated, a controlling shareholder of the Company, holds shares in the Company in trust for the Government of the HKSAR.

In respect of the appointment of Mr Lam, there is no other information which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements of Rules 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Listing Rules, and there is no other matter relating to his appointment, other than as stated above, which needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

## Mr Hon Chi-keung

The Company also announces that Mr Hon Chi-keung, who will retire from the post of PS for D with effect from 13 October 2018, will cease to be a NED and a member of each of the Capital Works Committee and the Risk Committee of the Company, all with effect from the same date. Mr Hon has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board of Directors of the Company and that there is no matter relating to his cessation as a NED of the Company that needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

## Hong Kong, 17 September 2018

As at the date of this announcement:

*Members of the Board:* Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang *(Chairman)\*\**, Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen *(Chief Executive Officer)*, Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler\*, Dr Pamela Chan Wong Shui\*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai\*, Vincent Cheng Hoi-chuen\*, Anthony Chow Wing-kin\*, Dr Eddy Fong Ching\*, James Kwan Yuk-choi\*, Lau Ping-cheung, Kaizer\*, Rose Lee Wai-mun\*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai\*, Abraham Shek Lai-him\*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun\*, Dr Allan Wong Chi-yun\*, Johannes Zhou Yuan\*, James Henry Lau Jr (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)\*\*, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Frank Chan Fan)\*\*, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Hon Chi-keung)\*\* and Commissioner for Transport (Mable Chan)\*\*

*Members of the Executive Directorate:* Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen, Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Peter Ronald Ewen, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Adi Lau Tin-shing, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, Linda So Ka-pik, David Tang Chi-fai and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- \* independent non-executive Director
- \*\* non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.