Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

## 香港鐵路有限公司

('Company')
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 66)

## **RE-APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN**

The Company announces that Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang has been re-appointed by The Financial Secretary Incorporated ("FSI") as Chairman of the board of directors ("Chairman") of the Company for a term of six months commencing from 1 January 2019 to 30 June 2019 (both dates inclusive).

Professor Ma was first appointed by the FSI as Chairman of the Company for a term of three years from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2018 (both dates inclusive).

Under the Company's Articles of Association, for so long as the FSI controls 50% or more of the voting power of the Company, it has the exclusive right to appoint any director of the Company as Chairman of the Company. The FSI currently holds more than 50% of the issued shares in the Company in trust for the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Pursuant to Article 117(a) of the Company's Articles of Association, the FSI has, by notice in writing, re-appointed Professor Ma as Chairman of the Company for a term of six months with effect from 1 January 2019 to 30 June 2019 (both dates inclusive).

Professor Ma's biographical details are available on the Company's website (<a href="http://www.mtr.com.hk">http://www.mtr.com.hk</a>) under the "Investor's Information - Corporate Governance" section.

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 19 November 2018

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang (Chairman)\*\*, Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen (Chief Executive Officer), Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler\*, Dr Pamela Chan Wong Shui\*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai\*, Vincent Cheng Hoi-chuen\*, Anthony Chow Wing-kin\*, Dr Eddy Fong Ching\*, James Kwan Yuk-choi\*, Lau Ping-cheung, Kaizer\*, Rose Lee Wai-mun\*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai\*, Abraham Shek

Lai-him\*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun\*, Dr Allan Wong Chi-yun\*, Johannes Zhou Yuan\*, James Henry Lau Jr (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)\*\*, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Frank Chan Fan)\*\*, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Lam Sai-hung)\*\* and Commissioner for Transport (Mable Chan)\*\*

Members of the Executive Directorate: Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen, Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Peter Ronald Ewen, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Adi Lau Tin-shing, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, Linda So Ka-pik, David Tang Chi-fai and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- \* independent non-executive Director
- \*\* non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.