Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

#### TAI PING CARPETS INTERNATIONAL LIMITED

(*incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability*) (Stock Code: 146)



# POLL RESULTS OF THE 2012 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND DISTRIBUTION OF FINAL DIVIDEND AND RETIREMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

## POLL RESULTS OF THE 2012 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

At the Annual General Meeting of Tai Ping Carpets International Limited (the "Company") held on 17 May 2012 (the "AGM"), voting on each of the proposed resolutions as set out in the Notice of AGM dated 17 April 2012 was taken by poll.

As at the date of the AGM, the issued share capital of the Company was 212,187,488 shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the shareholders to attend and vote for or against all resolutions. There was no restriction on any shareholder to cast votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the AGM.

The Company is pleased to announce that all the resolutions were duly passed by the shareholders as ordinary resolutions as more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of each of the proposed resolutions. The poll results were as follows:

		Number of votes (%)	
	Ordinary Resolutions#	For	Against
(1)	To adopt the audited Financial Statements and the Reports	162,959,230	0
	of the Directors and Auditor for the year ended 31	(100%)	(0%)
	December 2011.		
(2)	To declare a final dividend for the year ended 31	162,959,230	0
	December 2011.	(100%)	(0%)

			Number of votes (%)	
Ordinary Resolutions#			For	Against
(3)	(a)	To re-elect Mr. Ian D. Boyce as Director.	162,959,230	0
			(100%)	(0%)
	(b)	To re-elect Mr. David C. L. Tong as Director.	162,959,230	0
			(100%)	(0%)
	(c)	To re-elect Mr. John J. Ying as Director.	162,959,230	0
			(100%)	(0%)
	(d)	To re-elect Mr. Lincoln C. K. Yung as Director.	162,959,230	0
			(100%)	(0%)
	(e)	To authorise the board of directors to fix their	162,959,230	0
		remuneration.	(100%)	(0%)
(4)	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as auditor of the		162,959,230	0
	Com	bany and authorise the board of directors to fix the	(100%)	(0%)
remuneration.				

# The full text of each resolution was set out in the Notice of AGM dated 17 April 2012.

The vote-taking at the AGM was scrutinised by the Company's Hong Kong branch registrars, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited.

### DISTRIBUTION OF FINAL DIVIDEND

A final dividend of HK9 cents per share was approved at the AGM and will be distributed on or about 11 July 2012 to shareholders whose names appear on the register of members of the Company at the close of business on 25 May 2012.

## **RETIREMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS**

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of the Company has been informed by Mr. Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen ("Mr. Lincoln Leong") that he would not offer himself for re-election at the AGM and retired from his position as a Non-executive Director of the Company after the AGM in order to devote more time to his other business engagements. Mr. Lincoln Leong has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his retirement that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders.

Following the retirement of Mr. Lincoln Leong, Mr. Nelson Leong Kwok-fai ("Mr. Nelson Leong") retired from his position as an Alternate Director to his brother, Mr. Lincoln Leong of the Company after the AGM. Mr. Nelson Leong has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his retirement that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders.

The Board would like to extend its gratitude to Mr. Lincoln Leong and Mr. Nelson Leong for their valuable contributions to the Company during their tenure.

By order of the Board **Tai Ping Carpets International Limited Lee Siu Kau** *Company Secretary* 

Hong Kong, 17 May 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of the Company are: Chairman and Non-executive Director – Mr. Nicholas T. J. Colfer; Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director – Mr. James H. Kaplan; Independent Non-executive Directors – Mrs. Yvette Y. H. Fung, Mr. Roderic N. A. Sage, Mr. Lincoln C. K. Yung, Mr. Aubrey K. S. Li; Non-executive Directors – Mr. Ian D. Boyce, Mr. David C. L. Tong, Mr. John J. Ying.