The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement



(incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(the "Company")

(Stock Code: 1070)

## ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF NEW DIRECTORS

The board of directors (the "Board") of the Company is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Alastair Kenneth Ruskin Campbell and Mr. Didier Trutt as executive directors of the Company effective from 31 August 2005.

The Board is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Alastair Kenneth Ruskin Campbell and Mr. Didier Trutt as executive directors of the Company effective from 31 August 2005.

Mr. Campbell, aged 53, is the president of China business for Thomson S.A. ("Thomson") based in Beijing, and is responsible for Thomson's government relations and country strategy. He was also a director of TTE Corporation, a subsidiary of the Company from October 2004 to August 2005, and is currently a director of Beijing Thomson CITIC Digital Technology Co., Ltd. Mr. Campbell has over thirty years experience in China trade and has been providing consultancy service for investments in China. He previously headed the corporate advisory practice in Crosby Financial Holdings focusing on merger and acquisition in China, and was the head of corporate finance at Bank of China International (UK) Limited from January 2000 to July 2004. Mr. Campbell has participated in negotiation of major deals with the Chinese industry for western clients and has been the chairman of the China-WTO committee under the auspices of Chatham House, an Executive Director of the China program at the Royal Institute of International Affairs and a council member of the China Britain Business Council. He is the vice chairman of the 48 Group, formed in 1953 to promote bilateral relations with China and the China advisor to the D-Group, a UK based forum dedicated to advancing the interests of its members comprising more than 70 international companies. He has graduated from Oxford University with honours in oriental studies and earned a diploma in modern Chinese language and history from Beijing University.

Mr. Didier Trutt, aged 45, is a senior executive vice president of Thomson appointed in October 2004 and in charge of the "Process Transformation Initiative" program for Thomson. He is also a director of certain subsidiaries of Thomson. From 1999 to 2003, he held general management positions as the vice president in the displays business of Thomson, firstly in charge of operations for tubes for Europe and Asia and then in charge of tubes worldwide operations. From 1996 to 1999, as the vice president of manufacturing operations of Thomson for television and video in Europe, he was in charge of all manufacturing for the Thomson television and video European branch. In 1994, as the general manager of digital video broadcasting system of Thomson, he launched the digital operations business in Europe for Thomson. From 1987 to 1994, based in Asia, he was responsible for Thomson television in Thailand, and was the general manager of television and video activities of Thomson for all industrial sites in South East Asia. From 1984 to 1987, he was in charge of implementing production processes and coordinating manufacturing activities for Thomson Television Components France. Mr. Trutt is also the vice-chairman of the Guangdong Association of Foreign Invested Enterprises. Since 1992, he has been a member of the National Committee of Foreign Trade Advisers of France.

Each of Mr. Campbell and Mr. Trutt is not interested or deemed to be interested in any shares or underlying shares in the Company pursuant to Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Each of Mr. Campbell and Mr. Trutt have not entered into any service contract with the Company and their appointment as executive directors of the Company will be subject to election by shareholders of the Company at the first annual general meeting after the appointment.

Each of Mr. Campbell and Mr. Trutt has not hold any directorships in public listed companies in the past three years, and save for aforesaid, does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Li Dong Sheng, Zhao Zhong Yao, Lu Zhong Li, Hu Qiu Sheng, Yan Yong, Alastair Kenneth Ruskin Campbell and Didier Trutt as executive directors, Albert Thomas da Rosa, Junior as non-executive director and Hon Fong Ming, Wang Bing and Tang Guliang as independent non-executive directors.

On behalf of the Board Li Dong Sheng Chairman

Hong Kong, 2 September 2005

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in (South China Morning Post)